2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> What's a RedZee

Site Administrator

Group Icon
Group: Site Admin
Joined: 4-September 02
Posts: 6,887
From: Melbourne, Australia
post Oct 4 2005, 12:36 AM
Anyone heard of or use RedZee search engine: http://www.redzee.com?
Offline Go to the top of the page

Star Member

Group Icon
Group: 1000 Post Club
Joined: 15-August 04
Posts: 1,071
post Oct 4 2005, 11:11 AM
Now I have. smile.gif ... The results are pretty relevant. Wonder who's the source of the search listing?

Typo corrected.
Offline Go to the top of the page

Moderator

Group Icon
Group: Moderators
Joined: 6-March 03
Posts: 7,962
From: Langley, British Columbia, Canada
post Oct 4 2005, 12:08 PM
Yes, it's intriguing. It picked up a blog posting of mine as fast as the regular Google this morning, but the order of the entries in the SERP are different.
Offline Go to the top of the page

Star Member

Group Icon
Group: 1000 Post Club
Joined: 15-August 04
Posts: 1,071
post Oct 4 2005, 12:11 PM
I have a doubt that it is splicing the results from the various search engines along with their own (paid?) listing.
Offline Go to the top of the page

Founder & Administrator

Group Icon
Group: Admin - Top Level
Joined: 29-August 02
Posts: 11,644
From: Bucks County, PA
post Oct 4 2005, 12:38 PM
The results for me are a little odd.

http://www.redzee.com/search/search.cgi?wh...and+seo&x=0&y=0

shows the main Cre8pc site comes up in the #1 spot, but if you click on it, it points to the blog, not the main site, or the actual URL it lists. In the #4 spot iis the blog itself and the correct URL to take the visitor there.

It's showing my blog as a sponsor, but I know I'm not a paid sponsor.

I like the zebra.
Offline Go to the top of the page

Moderator

Group Icon
Group: Moderators
Joined: 6-March 03
Posts: 7,962
From: Langley, British Columbia, Canada
post Oct 4 2005, 01:12 PM
Yes the results are decidely weird and it seems broken in several respects. I guess unlike the 800 lb. gorilla that brings out Beta versions, the zebra has brought out an alpha version. That won't do too well in the search engine jungle. sad.gif
Offline Go to the top of the page

Site Administrator

Group Icon
Group: Site Admin
Joined: 4-September 02
Posts: 6,887
From: Melbourne, Australia
post Oct 4 2005, 04:27 PM
It does seem weird. I asked cause a site I'm managing is getting quite a lot of traffic from it.

The referrer is: admin.redzee.com/pluginhtml/RedzeeSearch.aspx

They seem to be offering their own PPC and for a few searches I've done there are lots of advertisers. Dunno I would have thought some of us would have heard of it...
Offline Go to the top of the page

Site Administrator

Group Icon
Group: Site Admin
Joined: 4-September 02
Posts: 6,887
From: Melbourne, Australia
post Oct 4 2005, 04:30 PM
Update:

They are not their own PPC listings - I'm seeing our ads there and we're not using them (AFAIAA).
Offline Go to the top of the page

Moderator

Group Icon
Group: Moderators
Joined: 29-August 02
Posts: 5,751
From: Bristol, UK
post Oct 4 2005, 04:42 PM
From the T&C's

QUOTE
Certain search results may be \"sponsored\" results, which consist of websites who have paid for placement in the search results. These listings are provided by our business partner, Link Positions, which is a subsidiary of ISE.


And a press release at http://www.corporatewebsitemarketing.com/b...Engine.rss.html (such typical press release language :roll:) says it's a meta search engine.

Having trouble finding the so called parent company ISE Corporation though.
Offline Go to the top of the page

Moderator Alumni

Group Icon
Group: Hall Of Fame
Joined: 14-November 02
Posts: 7,197
From: Los Angeles
post Oct 4 2005, 07:14 PM
There's an ages-old image of my site. I'm thinking it's from Alexa.
Offline Go to the top of the page

Site Administrator

Group Icon
Group: Site Admin
Joined: 4-September 02
Posts: 6,887
From: Melbourne, Australia
post Oct 4 2005, 07:42 PM
Yah it looked like Alexa to me too.
Offline Go to the top of the page

Star Member

Group Icon
Group: 1000 Post Club
Joined: 15-August 04
Posts: 1,071
post Oct 4 2005, 08:20 PM
QUOTE
They are not their own PPC listings - I'm seeing our ads there and we're not using them (AFAIAA).

They are just populating the sponsored results with the 'real' search results. Yeps, I liked the Zebra too wink-2.gif
Offline Go to the top of the page

Untested

Group: Members
Joined: 30-September 05
Posts: 3
post Oct 4 2005, 08:54 PM
Their site's thumbnail is too old. I think they took the first month shot from archive.org.

Anyway why use other search engine when you have google? (and msn).
Offline Go to the top of the page

Quarter Grand Poster

Group: Members
Joined: 18-October 03
Posts: 327
post Oct 5 2005, 05:41 AM
Never heard of this one, it must be very new. It isn't a bad search engine. I think it is well thought out. However one of the charms of a meta-search engine to me is to see which search engines are being queried and to see which engines are ranking what individual listings. This does not do that and tries to hide the fact that it is a meta.

I do like the fact that they included a directory search.

The Zebra has a certain goofy charm but he needs to hold still after awhile or he could get irritating.
Offline Go to the top of the page

Site Administrator

Group Icon
Group: Site Admin
Joined: 4-September 02
Posts: 6,887
From: Melbourne, Australia
post Oct 5 2005, 04:50 PM
True. What's really puzzling me is the amount of referrals it's sending this site. It is a new site so I'm not expecting too much in the way of traffic just yet, but RedZee is the second highest referrer. That's the puzzle. Who uses it?
Offline Go to the top of the page

Star Member

Group Icon
Group: 1000 Post Club
Joined: 15-August 04
Posts: 1,071
post Oct 5 2005, 05:13 PM
Sophie, check if the visitors arriving from RedZee are indeed browsing your site. Check the path - are they digging into the site and following a logical path. It could be that RedZee is indulging in referral spam or log spamming using a bot. Since they have their own ad program, they might be trying to tempt you to try them out.
Offline Go to the top of the page

Site Administrator

Group Icon
Group: Site Admin
Joined: 4-September 02
Posts: 6,887
From: Melbourne, Australia
post Oct 5 2005, 05:15 PM
Good idea whitemark. Will do some digging and report back. smile.gif
Offline Go to the top of the page

Untested

Group: Members
Joined: 5-October 05
Posts: 1
post Oct 5 2005, 11:36 PM
Confirmation on the fact they are populating the paid search results with regular results since I certainly don't pay referrals for my personal blog.
Offline Go to the top of the page

Moderator Alumni

Group Icon
Group: Hall Of Fame
Joined: 31-August 02
Posts: 15,634
post Oct 5 2005, 11:50 PM
Hi Rossiroo,

Welcome to the forums.

Great observation. I think I would be surprised in that instance too.

There are a lot of things about this search engine that I like, and I performed a couple of searches and wasn't disappointed with the results. But, if it is a meta search engine, as advertised, I'd like to see which search engines it is using, too.

I'm surprised that it would deliver that much traffic to a site of yours, Sophie, as such a newcomer on the scene.
Offline Go to the top of the page

Site Administrator

Group Icon
Group: Site Admin
Joined: 4-September 02
Posts: 6,887
From: Melbourne, Australia
post Oct 6 2005, 01:07 AM
Same Bill. It does have a *lot* of original content so unless someone has discoved that I think whitemark is probably onto something - will hopefully get time to check tomorrow.

Welcome to Cre8asite Rossiroo. wavey.gif
Offline Go to the top of the page
Reply to this topic Start new topic
2 Pages V  1 2 >
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
Jump to Forum:
 
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th February 2010 - 05:52 PM
Meet our Moderators: cre8pc : projectphp : sanity : Black Phoenix : bwelford : EGOL : Ruud : rustybrick : AbleReach : swainzy : joedolson: eKstreme: dazzlindonna : SEOigloo: iamlost : RisaBB
Cre8asite RSS Feed