![]() ![]() |
Moderator Alumni![]() Group: Hall Of Fame
Joined: 1-September 02
Posts: 9,213
From: UK
|
Feb 20 2006, 08:41 AM |
|
|
I got a tip earlier that BigMouthMedia, a very well known UK Search Engine Optimisation company with some very large clients, had mysteriously vanished from Google results.
http://www.google.com/search?q=bigmouthmedia Lots of mentions of BigMouthMedia for sure, but their own domain - bigmouthmedia.com - is very noticably missing from the SERPs, and presumably from the index itself since they don't even show for their own domain in a search. http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=bigmouthmedia%2Ecom QUOTE Sorry, no information is available for the URL bigmouthmedia.com http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=site:bigmouthmedia.com QUOTE Your search - site:bigmouthmedia.com - did not match any documents. I have been seeing this happening to a lot of SEO companies recently here in the UK. Even WebObjective, which certainly claims to use only the whitest of white techniques went missing from the SERPs as if banned a few weeks ago, although they were reincluded last week. So, the question arises is this a new sign of aggressive defence of its algorithms by Google? Has anyone else noticed a lot more SEO companies sites disappearing from the SERPs mysteriously? |
||
| Offline | ![]() |
Star Member![]() Group: 1000 Post Club
Joined: 28-April 03
Posts: 1,489
From: UK
|
Feb 20 2006, 02:09 PM |
|
|
Can anyone who knows any sites that have been banned for certain, try a little test out..
Search google for them ie http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=b...com&btnG=Search Just wondering if the banned sites all look similar to this... [QUOTE]Sorry, no information is available for the URL bigmouthmedia.com * Find web pages from the site bigmouthmedia.com * Find web pages that contain the term "bigmouthmedia.com"[/QUOTE] Whereas sites not listed, that are not banned, but have valid urls, or even invalid urls seem to look like this... http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=s...com&btnG=Search[/QUOTE] [QUOTE] Sorry, no information is available for the URL someothersite.com * If the URL is valid, try visiting that web page by clicking on the following link: someothersite.com * Find web pages from the site someothersite.com * Find web pages that contain the term "someothersite.com" [/QUOTE] Note that the first example, for bigmouthmedia does not show the "if the url is valid line" which makes me think that google must have applied some filter to stop the results being shown, as it knows the url is valid..... Is this a way of finding out if a site has been banned? Or am I barking up the wrong tree? This post has been edited by kensplace: Feb 20 2006, 02:17 PM |
||
| Offline | ![]() |
Moderator Alumni![]() Group: Hall Of Fame
Joined: 31-August 02
Posts: 15,634
|
Feb 20 2006, 02:23 PM |
|
|
I haven't been keeping an eye too much on SEO sites, but I remember looking at the bigmouthmedia one a while back because they had released a nice whitepaper on accessibility and SEO.
They have an odd bit of scrolling text on the botton left of their site that cycles through a bunch of statements about search engine optimisation and search engine marketing, one at a time. It is, however, in the same light gray as the rest of the text in the navigation column, and it's not really invisible text. But I wouldn't want a search engineer making a judgment call on something like that if I were them. Of course, sometimes sites fall out of the search engines (My webpages used to be listed and now they aren't.), but I would expect some level of scrutiny from the search engines if I were an SEO company, and perhaps they are being watched more carefully than other sites. Ken, You may be right about the distinction between what Google shows, but we just don't know. |
||
| Offline | ![]() |
Quarter Grand PosterGroup: Members
Joined: 9-June 05
Posts: 365
From: Vulcan, MI
|
Feb 20 2006, 06:56 PM |
|
|
Maybe it is another case like 'Traffic Power' where they were caught using black hat seo.
The article about Traffic Power's ban from bad seo is here. |
||
| Offline | ![]() |
Star Member![]() Group: Members
Joined: 18-November 05
Posts: 976
From: Paris - France
|
Feb 21 2006, 01:38 AM |
|
|
Well, yes, you can call that filter. Of course, search engines won't ban you right after they noticed that you're using keyword stuffing or any other spam techniques, they will just flag you first.
There must be plenty of patents out there presenting how to detect keyword stuffing, I just found this one from MSN for example that says: QUOTE Existing search engines attempt to prevent search engine spam by separately analyzing each spam technique to identify a pattern of a manipulated electronic document. When such search engines detect an electronic document that has the identified pattern, then the search engines label the electronic document as spam to avoid presenting the electronic document to a user in a search result or to demote the result. For example, a particular search engine may label an electronic document that is primarily built for the search engine rather than for an end-user as a search engine spam. Similarly, a search engine may detect a hidden text and/or a hidden link in an electronic document and label this electronic document as a search engine spam. What I'm trying to say here, is that I really think search engines (especially Google) became really good in targetting spam pages, in that that robots became really clever, and can, for example, make the difference between a page that is using a lot of keywords (naturally) and a page that is just stuffing keywords in the text. Again, I'm not saying that the little box can be the one and only reason of the possible ban, but if I was a search engine robot, I think I would have no problem deciding how to tag this page... |
||
| Offline | ![]() |
Star Member![]() ![]() Group: 1000 Post Club
Joined: 9-January 05
Posts: 1,532
From: Perth, Western Australia
|
Feb 21 2006, 06:42 AM |
|
|
Ban them. They are guilty as sin if they have 6000 words in a scrolling box.....
I am doing Jury Duty next month, and I dont know what the guy did, but he is guilty. Guilty, I say, guilty ! No, I dont think it is radical at all. I think we need more of it, much more. 200 years ago in this country, you got 15 years hard labour for stealing a loaf of bread. And multiple whippings with the cat-o-nine tails across your back. A leather multi-stranded whip with metal barbs in the end. Now that builds character. Even though Google is the number 1 search engine, my best clients say that everytime they search in their industry group for advanced information, they get a lot of crappy and spammy websites. Lets take lawyers. They cop it real bad. It you search for lawyers in your local area, you will find a lot of legal directories who borrow the name and contact details of each law firm, without permission, and then put a contact button next to them. This website does no service to my client in this case. http://www.helplinelaw.com/lawyers/australia/perth They have taken some of our content, they provide no backlinks, and if you try and contact the lawyer, you get this form: http://www.helplinelaw.com/login/lawfirm1....=1705&proid=118 After filling in this form thinking I was contacting my client, I received an email QUOTE Dear Travis, Thanks for choosing http://www.helplinelaw.com Your query has been forwarded to all our associates practicing in your area of concern. It usually takes upto one week for any one of them to get back to you if they are in a position to accept your brief or send you the relevant information. Best Regards, System Manager, http://www.helplinelaw.com Is this a bannable offence ? Where is convict punishment when you need it ? This post has been edited by travis: Feb 21 2006, 06:46 AM |
||
| Offline | ![]() |
Star Member![]() Group: Members
Joined: 28-November 05
Posts: 583
From: On the beach, USA
|
Feb 21 2006, 10:58 AM |
|
|
Doc |
||
| Offline | ![]() |
Star Member![]() Group: Members
Joined: 18-November 05
Posts: 976
From: Paris - France
|
Feb 21 2006, 01:16 PM |
|
|
Apparently they removed the text box.
|
||
| Offline | ![]() |
![]()
|
|
3 Pages 1 2 3 >
|
|
| Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 9th February 2010 - 04:12 PM |
| Meet our Moderators: | cre8pc : projectphp : sanity : Black Phoenix : bwelford : EGOL : Ruud : rustybrick : AbleReach : swainzy : joedolson: eKstreme: dazzlindonna : SEOigloo: iamlost : RisaBB |