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Cre8asite Tech News Reporter![]() ![]() Group: 1000 Post Club
Joined: 18-June 04
Posts: 1,541
From: Tatooine
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May 2 2007, 12:45 AM |
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Have a quick look at this K
http://www.cre8asiteforums.com/forums/inde...showtopic=48718 Might help, might not... |
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Joined: 3-July 07
Posts: 19
From: Charlotte, NC
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Jul 3 2007, 04:17 PM |
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Here are the factors Google uses to calculate quality score.
- Keyword relevance - Ad copy relevance - Landing page relevance - Click through rate (CTR) - Keyword performance history - Other relevance terms Google will not share To answer the original question, Google the relevance of your keyword and ad copy play a part. Also, your CTR is included. Here is the official answer from Google. What is a 'Quality Score' and how is it calculated? *link drop removed This post has been edited by eKstreme: Jul 3 2007, 04:26 PM |
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From: Novosibirsk, Russia
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Jul 4 2007, 03:25 AM |
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It's be been rumored (do I not like to spread rumors, tho) that Google also takes into account the overall linking weight (popularity) of the domain. Of course, it also takes all factors you can think of into account, too.
It has been noted earlier that heavy early spending helped boost a campaign. In fact, quite recently I had copied an ad to a new ad group and it was shown more than a new ad, though the settings were to show them equally. This post has been edited by A.N.Onym: Jul 4 2007, 03:29 AM |
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From: UK
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Jul 6 2007, 01:49 PM |
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QUOTE 2. When talking about Google's future moves, I believe it's fruitless because it would be pure speculation. That post was made in the past. If it has no speculative merit, it has no value in the present. More than that though, all marketing *is* speculation. Are you looking at keyword data that includes the 25% of all searches that have never, ever, been made before? Of course not. Early on, you base keyword selection on past trends and speculate on the likelihood of that trend continuing. If you are really smart, or simply dealing with a new type of product, you create your own memes and buzz-words, because you have to, and so help create that 25% of searches that are using new terms of the moment. And of course, with SEM you are usually operating in a time-lapse environment, where to measure the effects of a change you make now, may take weeks. Longer with the extended buying processes of high-ticket-prce items and items that have a log-term commitment. Don't dismiss speculation, it is a large part (and art) of your career. How good you are at it will determine your success in any Markting based career. Is that true? $10 * .1% CTR = $10 CPM. $1 * 1.3 CTR = $13 CPM. For every 1,000 searches, Google makes $3 more. Indeed, assuming such a massive diference in CTR it can ake more money. But is that realistic? Were you ever running PPC campaigns on Ovrture just prior to the launch of AdWords? The price differences were often just pennies between the top 20 bidders, and indeed, a lot were bidding identical amounts and only the factor of 'who'd bid first' was determining the order. We knew even back then that much of the frenzy to be #1 wasn't justified, and that position 3 (Overture showed the top 3 above most SERPs on clients' search engines, like Y!). The CTR difference was affected by order though, where the top-most would always attract extra clicks simply fo being the first, (but might often attract less conversions simply becuse it was the first, and thus no comparison data was available to potential buyers until they went to later results...) Certainly, whil it was something I, as an internet user, loved Google for adding, it was something a lot of PPC clients did not appreciate. To them, this was like an auction, where your bid was subject to a secret multipier by te auctioneer based on how much he liked you. Getting back on topic however, think about why Google introduced any scoring for Landing Pages anyway? Why would Gogle want to turn down some bidders and disable their bids? That certainly does cost money for Google at least in the short-term. The reason you need to question for yourself about why Google did that, is because if the current factors don't achieve whatever you think they wanted t, it is almost certain that they'll introduce still tougher criteria in the future, and PageRank or TrustRank would be some of the leading contenders in my book in terms of how incredibly easy it could be to add them into the ranking system, and how effective they'd almost certainly be in providing better results to users, and reducing complaints about Google's 'commercial evils'. |
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Jul 6 2007, 03:35 PM |
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Directly from the horse's mouth. Bill Slawski just blogged about a new patent that gives us all the insight we need about the Quality Score algorithm.
QUOTE The patent applications lists examples of 44 different factors that might be used in a quality score that doesn’t focus upon click through rates. These include such things as: # How many times a user selects a given ad in a given session. # A duration of time, from an ad result selection, until the user issues another search query. This may include time spent on other pages (reached via a search result click or ad click) subsequent to a given ad click. # A ratio of the time, from a given ad result selection until the user issues another search query, as compared to all other times from ad result selections until the user issued another search query. # Time spent, given an ad result selection, on viewing other results for the search query, but not on the given ad result. # How many searches (i.e., a unique issued search query) that occur in a given session prior to a given search result or ad selection; # How many searches that occur in a given session after a given search result or ad selection. # Rather than searches, how many result page views that occur for a given search query before a given selection. This can be computed within the query (i.e., just for a unique query), or for the entire session; # Rather than searches, how many search result page views that occur for a given search query after this selection. This can be computed within the query (i.e., just for the unique query), or for the entire session; If you use paid advertisements through Google, these patent applications may be worth delving deeper into. It is pretty interesting to see all of the user behavior considerations that may go into determining a score and placement for an ad. You can find out more here http://www.seobythesea.com/?p=717 |
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