![]() ![]() |
Moderator![]() ![]() Group: Moderators
Joined: 15-January 04
Posts: 4,736
From: Rimouski, Canada
|
May 13 2004, 10:03 PM |
|
|
First time I hear about it so openly and direct, but here it is.
http://news.com.com/2100-1024_3-5212479.html?tag=st.lh QUOTE Yahoo and Google have disabled links to controversial adware maker WhenU after the company was accused of engaging in unauthorized practices aimed at boosting its search rankings, WhenU's top executive confirmed Thursday. The practices came to light following an investigation by antispyware crusader Ben Edelman, a Harvard student who found that the company used a technique known as \"cloaking\" to dupe search engines into favorably listing decoy Web pages that direct people to other destinations, once they click on the link. A search Thursday on the term WhenU returned a broken link to a WhenU page on Yahoo and no links to WhenU's pages on Google. Ruud |
||
| Offline | ![]() |
Moderator Alumni![]() Group: Hall Of Fame
Joined: 31-August 02
Posts: 15,634
|
May 14 2004, 12:24 AM |
|
|
I'm impressed by Ben Edelman, who has produced a lot of research that has had a major amount of impact.
His past research covered such things as cybersquatting and typosquatting, fake whois information, filtering of pages in Saudi Arabia and China, censoring of pages in google.de and google.fr and the spyware article pointed to in the news.com link. He has some information on whenu.com's lawsuit against the State of Utah and their new laws against spyware. His latest blog post, Research on WhenU Search Engine Spamming, and Its Consequences points to a new piece of research which apparently prompted Google's actions: WhenU Spams Google, Breaks Google "No Cloaking" Rules Make sure that you scroll down to the bottom of the article and read the section: Responses by Search Engines, Registrars, and WhenU Interesting stuff. It looks like the sites have also disappeared from MSN. |
||
| Offline | ![]() |
Moderator![]() Group: Moderators
Joined: 6-March 03
Posts: 7,962
From: Langley, British Columbia, Canada
|
May 14 2004, 05:10 AM |
|
|
I trust this will be a landmark case and act as a beacon for action on other blatant users of these techniques. This is certainly the Topic of the Day for me so it goes on my BPWgr8threads List. I'll be watching this thread with interest.
|
||
| Offline | ![]() |
Moderator Alumni![]() Group: Hall Of Fame
Joined: 31-August 02
Posts: 15,634
|
May 14 2004, 05:36 AM |
|
|
Funny that they would do such things without bothering to Tell WhenU what they were doing.
|
||
| Offline | ![]() |
Star Member![]() Group: 1000 Post Club
Joined: 4-September 02
Posts: 1,141
From: Europe
|
May 14 2004, 08:14 AM |
|
|
and changing server locations....
|
||
| Offline | ![]() |
Moderator Alumni![]() Group: Hall Of Fame
Joined: 1-September 02
Posts: 9,213
From: UK
|
May 14 2004, 06:22 PM |
|
|
Clickz has covered the story as well, and confirms that the SEO company, (alledged to be responsible against the instruction of WhenU), has not been named
http://www.clickz.com/news/article.php/3354171 |
||
| Offline | ![]() |
Moderator![]() Group: Moderators
Joined: 20-August 03
Posts: 1,248
From: New York
|
May 16 2004, 03:12 PM |
|
|
Well it looks like Ben Edelman feels like who knows who the SEO company is. He said in a comment at the Search Engine Roundtable that it was Synergy6.
|
||
| Offline | ![]() |
UntestedGroup: Members
Joined: 16-May 04
Posts: 3
From: Cambridge, MA
|
May 16 2004, 04:48 PM |
|
|
Sorry not to have posted here too. For some reason the registration system wasn't working the first time I tried to register (was just giving me timeouts), so I wasn't immediately able to post.
Incidentally, Black_Knight, it was your post above that gave me my primary inspiration to try to figure out which SEO WhenU had hired for the cloaking work I documented last week. And now getting to the point -- I've just posted "Which SEO Did WhenU Use? The Best Inference: Synergy6", at http://www.benedelman.org/spyware/whenu-spam/seo.html. Sharing the same web servers (i.e. same IP addresses) that provided WhenU's cloaking, there are domains that use the same cloaking format, and redirect to destination URLs that show clear signs of being Synergy6 tracking URLs. Conceivably some other SEO could agree with its client that its traffic is to use URLs that include the string "synergy6". But why they would do that I cannot imagine, and it's certainly standard industry practice to use SEO name (or abbreviation, or some such) in tracking URLs. Plus, Synergy6 fits the profile described within Avi Naider's comments ("an outside search engine optimization firm based in New York"). On these bases, I'm comfortable with the inference that Synergy6 did performed cloaking for WhenU. I actually hadn't heard of Synergy6 before, but it turns out they've been accused of some serious stuff, like major spamming, by Microsoft and the attorney general of New York. News coverage and case documents are linked from my site. You all may already know about this already. |
||
| Offline | ![]() |
Moderator![]() Group: Moderators
Joined: 20-August 03
Posts: 1,248
From: New York
|
May 16 2004, 05:35 PM |
|
|
Thank you for your hard work.
|
||
| Offline | ![]() |
![]()
|
|
3 Pages 1 2 3 >
|
|
| Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 9th February 2010 - 02:17 PM |
| Meet our Moderators: | cre8pc : projectphp : sanity : Black Phoenix : bwelford : EGOL : Ruud : rustybrick : AbleReach : swainzy : joedolson: eKstreme: dazzlindonna : SEOigloo: iamlost : RisaBB |