• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Webnauts

Webnauts

Whirl Wind Member

• Members
  • 75 posts

Posted 21 February 2006 - 11:27 AM

I would like to ask, if you agree with Jakob Nielsen, that we should avoid within-pages links.

More about here: http://www.useit.com...page_links.html

#2 ccera

ccera

Mach 1 Member

• Members
  • 375 posts

Posted 21 February 2006 - 11:51 AM

I agree that it is wise to limit the use of in-page links as much as possible. However, they do have their uses. Having a "return to top" link on long pages is one which immediately springs to mind, and it's not likely to confuse anyone.

I disagree with him about opening links in the same window, though. I don't think it is necessarily "expected" (in 2006) for links to open in the same window, as a webmaster I think it's insane to send visitors away (unless it's a paid ad or something), and as a user I get frustrated if off-site links open in the same window.
Maybe I'm not typical, but at any given time I usually have several windows open at once, and I like it that way. ;)
CiCi

#3 Adrian

Adrian

Honored One Who Served Moderator Alumni

• Invited Users For Labs
  • 5779 posts

Posted 21 February 2006 - 12:25 PM

*sigh* more nonsense from the guy I think.

if you absolutely must use within-page links, say so. For example, add a short statement that says something like: "Clicking a link will scroll the page to the relevant section."

One of his 2 'exceptions' to the rule. Personally I think that's rubbish, I'm never going to say a link scrolls to a different point on the page.

And what about skip nav type links, a great boon for accessibility in screen readers, and on small screen devices. No acknowledgment of that at all.

Misguided link bait ramblings again I feel.

#4 cre8pc

cre8pc

Dream Catcher Forums Founder

• Admin - Top Level
  • 13510 posts

Posted 21 February 2006 - 12:53 PM