3 replies to this topic

#1 racheyc

racheyc

New To Community

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 February 2006 - 11:44 AM

Hi

I am in my last year of my degree course studying Business Information Systems. I am writing a dissertation on the importance of website usability and proving that a website can be usable as well as "pretty". However, I am having trouble finding some literature regarding those who are opposed to the use of usability (apart from usabilitymustdie.com). Does any body have any ideas? They would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards

Rachel

#2 rmccarley

rmccarley

Light Speed Member

• Members
  • 642 posts

Posted 22 February 2006 - 01:37 PM

I don't know of any specific literature but there are reasons to ignore usability issues:

- Takes too long
- Isn't understood very well
- Added expense for labor in both time and finding someone qualified
- Not the target market
- Doesn't understand the target market
- Unclear standards
- Ignorance
- Apathy
- "Look good"

The reality is most businesses have no idea how usable their sites are, especially when it comes to support for the disabled. The web design/development community has done a pretty lousy job pushing the issue because a lot of usability issues are tasky instead of creative. And there is a misconception that disabled people don't use the internet.

Speaking in broad terms of usability testing the site itself and how it performs for a real audience costs money, sometimes as much as building the site itself. It just isn't worth the expense.

#3 kensplace

kensplace

Time Traveler Member

• 1000 Post Club
  • 1497 posts

Posted 22 February 2006 - 01:58 PM

Lets take one real life example.

I try to make my site as usable as possible but I would love to make it "more accessible", but problems arise when I do so, of the top of my head, heres a couple..

I want to test it with screen readers