9 replies to this topic

#1 Tomc

Tomc

Ready To Fly Member

• Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 19 September 2006 - 07:03 AM

Hi,

So this is my first post - be gentle! :-)

I have been doing SEO for a few months now but still feel very much like I'm still learning...

Here's the question:

When performing a link building campaign, how effective is it to gain links from entirely non-relevant sites but which share some words from your keyphrase?

I'll use an example - if I'm trying to get links for a site about Football Boots and the keyphrase I wish to target is 'Football Boots' then how useful is it to gain links from sites which are about 'Hiking Boots'?

Will this help? Both mention the word 'Boots' but are not really relevant to each other... What about if the two keyphrases were totally disparate? Can't think of an example off the top of my head for this but I'm sure one will come to me.

Thanks,

Tom

#2 ukdaz

ukdaz

Light Speed Member

• Members
  • 738 posts

Posted 19 September 2006 - 07:13 AM

Hi Tom C

Welcome to the forum. :)

I would say that linking from a hiking boot to a footboot website is a relevant link.
In fact I wouldn't hesitate to get a link from any "boot" website at any time if I was promoting football boots (or any kind of boots).

If say you were linking from a site - say for instance a site about cans of baked beans then THAT would likely be an irrelevant link as there's no apparent connection. But I'd bet theres someone here who can see one! ;)

My own take would be to not just target the keyword phrase "football boot" - I'd wrap another word into that anchor text (maybe buy, nike, affordable, professional... you get the idea) and make it more of a niche.

Concentrate on the quality of the link - i.e. ask yourself if a site user saw your football boot link how likely would they click on it and then on the relevancy...

My take on it anyway....

Daz

#3 increseo

increseo

Whirl Wind Member

• Members
  • 77 posts