• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 circle

circle

Ready To Fly Member

• Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 14 December 2006 - 03:46 PM

First of all, I'd like to repeat: I'm a beginner and just started blogging like a month ago...

That being said: How important are posts labels? Are they as important as, say technorati tags or more? I always used to give a one word label for a post, but I see people labelling with more than one word and taking their time to come up with good labels. Do labels play a part in SEO the post/blog?

#2 Guest_joedolson_*

Guest_joedolson_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 December 2006 - 05:15 PM

If by label you mean the title of the post, then yes - absolutely those are very important.

The title of a post generally will appear in two main places in a blog: once as the header to a post (which may also be the link text of the link to the permanent address of that post), and once in the <title> tag of the page. The title tag appears in the top informational bar of your browser.

These two occurrences of the title text are probably some of the most important text in your blog, outside of your blog post itself. Search engines look at <title> tags and at <hn> tags (which are commonly used for blog titles) as highly relevant signals for identifying the topic of that page, and figuring out what types of searches may be most relevant to bring up that document.

A well-written title (clear and concise) will greatly assist the search engines in identifying the subject of your post. A single word is rarely sufficient: hypothetically, if you've labeled a post "Ravens", this indicates very little about the subject of the post: that it's about "ravens" in some way. Now, this might be the history of the Raven in literature, it could be about the functions of raven reproduction, it could be a review of a new coffee shop. If you were to instead title the page "Ravens: A Coffeeshop with Attitude", everything becomes much more clear and relevant.