• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 abc1234

abc1234

Ready To Fly Member

• Banned
  • 46 posts

Posted 04 January 2007 - 12:45 AM

This question has proberly been asked before, but I was wondering if it is best to keep the same meta keyword tag with the same keywords through out the whole of a website or is it best to use unique keywords through out each page.

This question proberly seems stupid to all those SEO wizes out there but I'm just starting to learn about the techniques...so sorry.

Thanks.

#2 rmccarley

rmccarley

Light Speed Member

• Members
  • 642 posts

Posted 04 January 2007 - 01:48 AM

It's a good question that has some debate behind it. My advice is to use a few words as posible while being as complete about the content of the page as you can including the broader context the page may fall within. For example, an article about links would fit under SEO. So if your site is about SEO then including "SEO" in the meta tag would probably be a good idea. However! Don't repeat words accross pages just hoping to rank for them. It has to *make sense*.

#3 Halfdeck

Halfdeck

Gravity Master Member

• Members
  • 110 posts

Posted 04 January 2007 - 02:08 AM

if it is best to keep the same meta keyword tag with the same keywords through out the whole of a website or is it best to use unique keywords through out each page.

Unless every page is about the same topic, use different keywords IF you choose to use them. They won't help you rank higher in Google from what I've seen. If you do spend time researching keywords though, its not a bad idea to include them if not for higher rankings, then for reminding yourself what you intend the page to rank for.

Personally, I haven't done any keyword research for a while so I usually don't use them.

#4 abc1234

abc1234

Ready To Fly Member

• Banned
  • 46 posts

Posted 04 January 2007 - 02:12 AM

Ok thanks haldfeck and mccarely for your input so far, much appreciated.