Joe Dolson (joedolson)

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
1 reply to this topic

#1 Guest_joedolson_*

Guest_joedolson_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 March 2007 - 07:32 PM

Who is Joe Dolson?

I'm a developer of web sites with a focus on accessibility and usability. But that doesn't really answer the whole question, does it?

I'm a relative newcomer to web development and the world of computers in general, having never owned a computer or done any significant work with them prior to 2001, my first year out of college. I'm an even newer-comer to web development, having started my freelance business in late 2004 having never done anything more than a little part-time website maintenance at small liberal arts colleges previously.

But that's not entirely a disadvantage. The practical beginnings of my web design habits began with a focus on web standards, CSS-based tableless design, and web accessibility. I was motivated to learn best practices from the beginning --- and although I've certainly managed to stumble occasionally along the way, I've yet to find myself needing to relearn anything from the ground up.

Not having the extensive computer background can sometimes be a disadvantage, of course. I don't have the years of practical experience with a variety of programming languages that many computer geeks do. I have minimal command line experience; I don't use Linux on any kind of a regular basis; I've never written in any interpreted language. My experience is very focused: I develop for the web. If it's not directly expressed online, I've probably never done it.

I'm essentially self-taught, if one can claim to be self-taught because they learned from studying what authority figures had written in sites like A List Apart and other standards-based design havens.