Cre8asiteforums Internet Marketing
and Conversion Web Design

Photo

Can You Get TOO Usable? (Of Blinders and Peanut Jars)

• Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#1 Grumpus

Grumpus

Honored One Who Served Moderator Alumni

• Hall Of Fame
  • 6344 posts

Posted 01 January 2004 - 11:33 PM

I'm not a usability expert, by any means. When I program things, I put the controls and buttons and things that you click where I think they should be and call it a day.

This method definitely contradicts the teachings of the usability experts, both here and from around the world. "There's nothing wrong with where you put that button," say they, "but it would be better if it were moved up here. That's where the user expects to find it."

So, I was working out some ideas for a user interface and spotted a half-full peanut jar someone had left up here over by one of the other machines. Staring at my screen and the work before me, I reached out and snatched up the peanut jar and proceeded to glide my thumb around the ridge of the lid to find that little tab to pop it open. I didn't find it, so I glanced down to make sure I was, in fact, holding onto a peanut jar. Yup. It was a peanut jar. Planters. Perfectly normal - just no tab.

I slid my thumb up to the edge of the lid thinking, "I don't need a stinking tab!" I pressed upwards as I glanced over at some notes.

Nothing. No budge.

Finally, I looked at the jar for a moment - top, sides, and bottom. Why the heck wouldn't it open????

Then, I saw it. In bright blue letters taking up a good 50% of the viewable surface of the lid were two words: "TWIST OFF."