Cre8asiteforums Internet Marketing
and Conversion Web Design

Photo

"Women in SEO" Turning Into "Hot Young Teen SEO?

• Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#1 BizDevMarketing

BizDevMarketing

Ready To Fly Member

• Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 October 2007 - 02:05 PM

Okay guys, I'm back from a year hiatus at the forum and am eager to begin participating regularly. I'll start with this:

I'm increasingly intrigued by the number of women in SEO who incorporate sexuality in their brand identity. Blogs are pink, use sexy images and vernacular, and just ooze "girl power." I'm just dying to point this out and pose a few questions to my readers on this issue, however, I'm wary of adopting a critical tone or coming off offensively.

As a newly independent consultant, I'd hate to gain visibility as a 'hater.' However, I think there are some valid points that can be made on this topic, as it relates to brand positioning, industry perception, client relationships and yes, the ever controversial women's movement. See, this is sticky!

So call this a little market research. Any long time search marketers have feedback for me on this?

#2 BillSlawski

BillSlawski

Honored One Who Served Moderator Alumni

• Hall Of Fame
  • 15644 posts

Posted 09 October 2007 - 04:42 PM

Welcome back, and congratulations on becoming a "newly independent consultant."

I like the topic, because it could be expanded beyond how woman in SEO are exploring different ways to create a certain mindset about themselves and the services that they offer. But narrowing it down to a specific subset of approaches might make us explore the area more in depth.

With so many SEO firms and consultants, how does one stand out?