• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 rjohnson

rjohnson

Whirl Wind Member

• Members
  • 54 posts

Posted 15 May 2008 - 03:52 PM

Just wanted to see what your thoughts / comments on this are.

I have been reading that small webmasters will not be able to compete or make any profits in the next years as search engines like google will only rank relevant sites. In other words, the idea of chasing links via blog postings, or directories, etc.. will be completely discounted (if not already) by google in the near future. They will only consider aspects such as branding, offline strategies, conversions, etc...
So only the big companies with millions of dollars will be ranked.

A little history on myself, I am new to the SEO world, and I am just starting to learn and apply the ideas of "more inbound links" with relevant anchor text , is what google needs to see. Am I starting something that is not going to lead me anywhere? Just wanted to see what the pros here think, and can maybe shed some light into all of this for me.

Thank you

#2 EGOL

EGOL

Professor

• Hall Of Fame
  • 5477 posts

Posted 15 May 2008 - 04:50 PM

In a competitive environment the sites with the resources will have an enormous advantage (if they use their resources wisely). As more people and companies enter the field the competition cranks up. A few years ago a few links would win top positions in SERPs that require thousands today. Links will not be the currency of rankings before you know it.

I would like to toss out a second idea related to this competition... the use of search engines by people is going to decline as major sites with deep content become better known. If you go to WebMD instead of search when you want medical info, or if you go straight to wikipedia to read something you are abandoning search.

So the small webmaster is going to compete in search but in many instances his potential visitors are going straight to a content site.