• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Joshua Sciarrino

Joshua Sciarrino

Mach 1 Member

• Members
  • 342 posts

Posted 26 May 2008 - 09:42 PM

Okay, I'm new to designing website and don't really know the major differences between browsers. One webmaster told me 'design a website for firefox, safari, etc, but not ie and then later add tweeks to make it work for IE'.

Is this true?

Any other suggestions?? Because this seems to be an issue, that I can't seem to find the answer to. How do I make my websites LOOK close to my original design.

#2 fisicx

fisicx

Sonic Boom Member

• Hall Of Fame
  • 1878 posts

Posted 27 May 2008 - 03:55 AM

Build a site to meet the 'web standards'. That means using good old (X)HTML for your site structure and CSS for your styles. A 'text only' site will be cross browser compatible and accessible to anyone using a PC, Mac, PDA, Mobile phone and screen reader. The incompatibilities come when you begin to style the site. But if you keep things simple, do not rely on absolute or relative positioning, fixed width and heights, point or pixel sized fonts and stick with the websafe colours then you shouldn't have a problem.

So the webmaster was correct, test the site using Firefox or Opera and then see how it looks using IE. It's also worth remembering that a website that works in IE7 may not work in IE5!

Incidentally, you cannot ever guarantee that your site will look the same as you original design. People use different operating systems, browsers and monitors, they adjust font sizes and colours, have different screen resolutions, change the brightness, wear glasses, are colour blind and so on. But if you stick with the 'web standards' your chances of success will increase.

There are loads of site dedicated to web standards:

Wikipedia - web standards

Web Standards Project

W3C and W3 Schools

Zeldman's Invaluable Book

The Maxdesign Checklist

#3 Joshua Sciarrino

Joshua Sciarrino

Mach 1 Member

• Members
  • 342 posts