Jump to content

Leading Community for Usability, Search Engine Marketing,
Social Networking, Site Planning & Web Site Development, Since 1998


Photo

Spam Detector Says My Home Page Is A Doorway Page


7 replies to this topic

#1 paranoidandroid

paranoidandroid

    Light Speed Member

  • Members
  • 821 posts

Posted 16 March 2009 - 08:41 PM

Would love to hear peoples opinions on this tool -

Search engine SPAM detector

I tested a couple of my sites with it and it reported a Doorway Farm - this seems to have been triggered by 9 blocks which are essentially featured products - I have an image of a product and a caption below it and each links to a relevant page (there's a link round the image and a second around the caption).

The 9 featured products are also linked to a third time via a standard side navigation which also includes another ten links to different pages.


Am I doing anything wrong or should I ignore the tool?


Paul

#2 DonnaFontenot

DonnaFontenot

    Peacekeeper Administrator

  • Admin - Top Level
  • 3297 posts
  • Twitter:http://twitter.com/DonnaFontenot
  • Facebook:http://www.facebook.com/donna.d.fontenot

Posted 16 March 2009 - 09:37 PM

Without seeing the page in question, it's tough to say, but in general, I'd say ignore the tool.

#3 glyn

glyn

    Sonic Boom Member

  • 1000 Post Club
  • 1889 posts

Posted 17 March 2009 - 03:09 AM

Quite so. And furthermore I am seeing Google munch up Doorway pages with vary little textual variance.

#4 paranoidandroid

paranoidandroid

    Light Speed Member

  • Members
  • 821 posts

Posted 17 March 2009 - 04:37 AM

Thanks dazzlindonna & glyn.

This is one of the sites in question -

http://www.buildingbricksets.co.uk/

#5 DonnaFontenot

DonnaFontenot

    Peacekeeper Administrator

  • Admin - Top Level
  • 3297 posts
  • Twitter:http://twitter.com/DonnaFontenot
  • Facebook:http://www.facebook.com/donna.d.fontenot

Posted 17 March 2009 - 08:19 AM

Now that I've seen one of the sites in question, DEFINITELY ignore the tool.

#6 Wit

Wit

    Sonic Boom Member

  • 1000 Post Club
  • 1597 posts
  • Twitter:w1t
  • Facebook:mcmdewit

Posted 17 March 2009 - 09:48 AM

The Motoricerca.info developer knows about SEO though, and about coding.
I think this person used to post @ SEOChat long ago, under the nickname Lowlevel.

It would be interesting to hear from him/her why exactly the buildingbricksets homepage is scoring high on the doorway scale. The FAQ section gives some more info, but not a lot. Statistical analysis and stuff, ick :)

PS: I've checked some of my homepages and they are of course clean hehehe :angel: except maybe my Sopranos micro-site which has some hidden text because of dynamic effects:

Invisible text found. Method(s): CSS 'visibility' property set to 'hidden'. Same text and background colors.
Invisibility purpose: Probably used to create interactive objects, like navigation structures.
Text: Tony

Invisible text found. Method(s): Same text and background colors.
Invisibility purpose: Probably used to create interactive objects, like navigation structures.
Text: Soprano



#7 glyn

glyn

    Sonic Boom Member

  • 1000 Post Club
  • 1889 posts

Posted 17 March 2009 - 10:35 AM

I wouldn't give any seed URLs via one of these checkers.
Particularly if the site has anything to do with SEO

All I check was the root domain hosting the service!

#8 paranoidandroid

paranoidandroid

    Light Speed Member

  • Members
  • 821 posts

Posted 17 March 2009 - 07:45 PM

Thanks for having a look everyone.

I discovered the tool on Google's webmaster forums, seems to get mentioned quite a bit on there.


Paul



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users